top of page

I'm Rich, Bitch


Just playin'. But, I have been told many times that I have a rich man's family. Now, before you call the cops, please allow me to explain. I'm referring to my own family so you should put down the phone. I haven't kidnapped anyone for ransom just yet, scout's honor. Apparently, a 'rich man's family' consists of a one son and one daughter and you will be presented this tile by various old ladies in both grocery stores and post offices. Honestly, it took me awhile to catch on to what these old biddies were talking about. Rich man's family? Did they see me pull up in the CR-V and notice that is has leather? Perhaps they noticed my unkempt cuticles and chalked it up to counting all them dollar bills? No, as one kinder older lady elaborated, '...you know, because you have both a son and daughter..." Ohhhhhhhh. Gotcha.

I have to say, the rich man's family is for me. Obviously, not a whole lot of planning has gone into starting a family with Ben and I, but this aspect has actually worked out. I wanted the experience of a son, a little Ben Jr if you will. Someone who loves to play cars and will carry on the Lieberman name. A little boy for our family that will grow into a man. A man, who like his father, is very much a nerd.

I also very much wanted a little girl. Like, very much. Like, I had no idea how much until the we found out we were having a daughter. It's funny how I progressed from "I don't care what sex it is as long as it's healthy" while pregnant to "Thank everything that's holy that she has a VAGINA!" I guess it has to do with that fact that the same sex-parent has the strongest influence on the child and I'm egotistical..? Or maybe the fact that the image of a father and young daughter may be the sweetest thing ever? Or how she loved to do girly things with me? Or all of it?

I'm not entirely sure, I just know that having a daughter AND son seems to be the best of both worlds to me and I feel like I hit the lottery...atleast by a 'rich' man's standards.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page