top of page

zzzZZZzzzzZZZZzzzZZZZZ


Naps. They sound so appealing and then you give in and they turn out to be one of your many mistakes. Oh, I'm making this all about me again? That's because it's my blog and I've earned the RIGHT. Just kidding-anyone can have a blog and I look forward to seeing what you have to offer the world of writing. Wix and Wordpress are free, my friends.

Anywho, back to the matter at hand. Naps. Both my kids were anti-naps, my son outgrowing them by the time he was 2 years old or so. I would try driving around with him in hopes he would nod off during the trip but he never did. He was ready to go at any given time. He wasn't cranky and showed no signs of needing a break no matter how much I needed him to take an unconscious break. So, we just kept on keepin' on.

My daughter would also resist naps wholeheartedly, but was receptive to quiet reading time. When it became apparent that she was tired and needed to rest, I would suggest that no, no, no, sleep wasn't necessary. Maybe just grab a book and sit on your beanbag for a bit and see what happens. More often than not, she would doze off and awake an hour or so later in a much saner frame of mind.

I, on the other hand, was more than willing to go and lie down on my comfortable bed, with my soft blankie, and tune out the world for a bit. How was I rewarded for my compliance? With grogginess upon waking and confusion with just where the hell I was and what the hell was going on. Admittedly, napping was not an activity that happened a lot so maybe it gets easier with time, but it never seemed worth it to pursue. I just never woke up feeling refreshed and ready to get back out there. Quite the opposite actually. I wouldn't even define the feeling of waking up after a nap as 'waking up'. It always seemed to be an extension of sleep, but much more moving required and people talking to you.

How the h*eck do people nap? I've read that downing a cup of coffee prior to napping will allow the caffeine to fill your exhausted veins just in time for you to wake but have not found this to be true. The idea of a powernap is oh so appealing, but how is it done?? Please share your napping tips!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page